Book Reviews

Blueink Review

Final Days of Judgement
Beverley Buckley
Xlibris, 213 pages, (paperback) $24.19 978-1-5144-4292-0
(Reviewed: August 2016)

The idea that our thoughts create our reality is at the heart of Final Days of Judgement. Here, Beverley Buckley, an educator, sustainable farmer, and spirit channeler, explains in simple prose how fear-based thinking causes many of our personal and social upheavals.

Buckley suggests that if you act from a position of trepidation, you build the houses of your endeavors on sand; any slight movement can cause your world to collapse. But, she argues, these disasters may be blessings in disguise. “Pain and suffering are wonderful teachers,” she writes. Our mistakes can actually be a bridge that leads to psychological and spiritual renewal.

Mixing seasoned wisdom and personal anecdotes—including stories of past lives and messages she obtained through the Elohim, or spirit guides—Buckley explores the Twelve Laws of the Universe: divinely inspired tools and gifts that can help us live with more clarity. These laws include abundance, synchronicity, duty, and attraction, among others. Buckley’s argument is essentially this: The universe is conscious and works for us, not against us. We conspire against ourselves when limiting beliefs prevent us from seeing how life can flow effortlessly. Activating these 12 laws will move you to a higher level of consciousness.

Buckley’s message is astute and rousing but for a few quibbles: The title, Finals Days of Judgement, though provocative, is misleading: The message here is much more uplifting and encompassing than the name implies. Moreover, while Buckley is a delightful writer, sometimes she introduces ideas without enough set-up, such as at the book’s beginning, which lists the laws of the universe right out of the gate. Without more background about the book’s purpose, this feels jarring and disorienting.

Overall, Buckley delivers an effective read. Fans of Jerry and Esther Hicks and A Course in Miracles will likely enjoy this book that argues that there is a new, golden age in store for us if our minds are in the right place.

Also available in hardcover and ebook.

 

Clarion Review

Final Days of Judgement
Beverley Buckley
Xlibris AU (Nov 24, 2015)
Softcover $24.19 (232pp)
978-1-5144-4292-0

Progressive and philosophical audiences will be enthralled by Buckley’s unconventionality and ingenuity. Beverley Buckley’s Final Days of Judgement is an intriguing spiritual exploration of the origins and future of the universe, marked by its passionate outpouring of ideas on what is wrong with the world and when—and how—all will become right.

The book’s leading assertion is that soon, individual lives and individual pain, fear, and anger will be eradicated, and the universe will return to its original state, where love is everything and everything is love. Buckley also argues that people are slowly becoming aware of this shift and are changing their lifestyles accordingly, from adopting habits like eating local and organic food, to realizing that money does not equal true success. Incorporating aspects of Eastern spirituality, Christianity, physics, and environmentalism, the book has a remarkably modern and global perspective.

While the doomsday title gives a dark and intimidating first impression, Buckley’s brand of spirituality, though it is certainly nontraditional, is more about compassion and awareness than it is focused on the end of the world. While it firmly predicts an overhaul of the world as we know it, the book also emphasizes that the new order hinges on the absence of judgment, a notion that is the exact opposite of most in end-of-the-world discourses.

Though many schools of thought are taken into account, the book often has more of a stream of consciousness style than it does an academic one. The interjection of supposedly channeled messages from the “Elohim,” godlike figures said to give Buckley prophecy-like information about the future of the universe, makes the
book more accessible to those unfamiliar with quantum physics or chakras but also lends it a somewhat offbeat flavor. A unique vocabulary operates throughout and is particularly prevalent in presentations of the finer points of the book’s theory. Terms such as “clearing blocks” and “vibrational frequency” are distinctive, but they also become repetitive, and the syntax gets somewhat muddled without a concise and detailed definition of the book’s terms. The process of Stress Defusion, in particular, requires a much clearer explanation.

The work presumes a great deal of prior knowledge about string theory, holographic principles, and other extremely complicated theories in physics on alternate universes, as well as concepts in other disciplines, like synchronicity. This further obscures its already elaborate concepts.

However, what the book lacks in clarity, it makes up for in conviction. Passionate and compelling passages assert that the key to a better world is a positive and global outlook, mindful treatment of the earth, and finding validation internally rather than externally.

Progressive and philosophical audiences will be enthralled by Buckley’s unconventionality and ingenuity in Final Days of Judgement.

PAIGE VAN DE WINKLE